Defining DACA

Compiled by
Nicholas Hanashiro

1. Affidavit — A written statement confirmed by oath or affirmation for use as evidence in court.

2. C.B.P. (Customs and Border Protection) — A government agency that enforces the US border and handles the deportation process (a subdivision of D.H.S.).

3. Childhood Arrival — Any person who falls under one or more of the following categories: was under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012; came to the United States before their 16th birthday; has continuously resided in the United States since June 15, 2007, up to the present time; are currently in school, has graduated, or obtained a certificate of completion from high school; has obtained a general education development (GED) certificate, or are an 

honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the United States. 

4. D.A.C.A (Consideration of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals) — A program that protects children who have come to the U.S. under the age of 16 from deportation. 

5. D.H.S (Department of Homeland Security) — A government agency that inspects all 

aspects of the U.S, defending against any threat.

6. D.R.E.A.M (Development, Relief, and Education for Alien Minors) — a bill passed in 

the California State Assembly, allows undocumented students in eligible California colleges, universities, and career education programs to apply for state financial aid and in-state tuition

7. Deferred Action — A two-year safety net from deportation.

8. Domicile — The country that a person treats as their permanent home or a place where they 

live and with which they have a substantial connection.

9. Economic Necessity for Employment — Generally, this is a need for employment due to a need to pay debts, college tuition, family, and other expenses, and any other

need for money. An intentionally vague term that allows many reasons to need to work.

10. ESL –– English as a second language.

11. Felony — A federal, state, or local criminal offense punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year.

12. I.C.E (Immigration and Customs Enforcement) — A government agency that enforces federal laws regarding immigration, in non-border areas of the country. 

13. I-765 Form — An application for employment authorization; used to be able to work under DACA provisions. Must be turned in with I-821D Form.

14. I-765WS Form — A worksheet to assess eligibility for DACA provisions. Also to be turned in with the I-765 and I-821D.

15. I-821D Form — The standard D.A.C.A request form

16. Non-significant Misdemeanor — Anything not counted as a significant misdemeanor, or charges that cause incarceration for less than 90 days including public

intoxication, trespassing, drug paraphernalia.

17. Permanent resident status — Someone who has been granted authorization to live and 

work in the United States on a permanent basis, like with a green card. 

18. Proceedings — Action taken in a court to settle a dispute.

19. Proof of identity — Passport or national identity document from your country of origin, birth certificate with photo identification, school or military ID with photo, or any U.S. government immigration or other document bearing your name and photo.

20. Removal Proceedings — Administrative proceedings to determine an individual’s 

likelihood to be removed under United States immigration law.

21. Significant Misdemeanor — Any of the following: domestic violence, sexual abuse, 

exploitation, burglary, unlawful possession or use of a firearm, drug distribution or 

trafficking, drunk driving, or any sentence of more than 90 days in custody.

22. U.S.C.I.S (United States Citizenship and Immigration) — A component of the United States Department of Homeland Security (DHS) that promotes national security; eliminates immigration case backlogs, and improves customer services.